Suscribe to Justice Through Suspense!

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Robin Lee Hatcher: You'll Think of Me



By Kelly Bridgewater

Her mother abandoned her, her father disowned her, and her husband left her. Can Brooklyn be convinced that it is possible to forgive the greatest of betrayals?

Brooklyn Myers escaped her broken home and her embittered, unloving father by eloping to Reno at the age of 17. But when she was pregnant with their first child, her husband abandoned her as well. Not welcome back home in Thunder Creek, Brooklyn stayed in Reno and raised her daughter Alycia on her own, doing her best to make sure Alycia never knew the heartache and rejection Brooklyn herself had known.

When her estranged husband Chad Hallston dies, he leaves the family home in Thunder Creek to his 
daughter. Believing it is the best way to give her daughter a stable home, Brooklyn does what she thought she would never do. She goes home to the orchard and wine country of Southwest Idaho. 

There, she encounters Chad’s best friend, Derek Johnson, a part time sheriff's deputy who also owns an organic produce farm next door. Derek was never a fan of former bad girl Brooklyn Myers, but he made a promise to his dying friend that he would be the father to Alycia that Chad had never been.

Although Derek and Brooklyn get off to a bumpy start, he and Alycia quickly form a bond. And soon, Derek realizes that he wants Brooklyn to trust him too . . .  even knowing that her trust won’t come easily. And then he realizes he wants even more than her trust. He wants to win her love.
While Brooklyn may be tempted to give her heart to Derek, risking her daughter’s happiness is another story. Will Brooklyn hold onto her self-reliance for dear life, or will she come to understand that the greatest gift she can give her daughter is showing her how to love and trust others?

From Amazon


My Thoughts:

Robin Lee Hatcher creates feel good love stories with little to no conflict. I enjoy her stories with their sweet Hallmark style love stories and how her characters appear realistic. In her latest novel, You'll Think of Me, Hatcher creates a love story that shows the conflict of how the past can affect a person. Hatcher also includes a lesson of forgiving those who hurt us. Brooklyn has a hard time moving on from the hurt of her father and the abandonment of her recently deceased husband, Chad. I rooted for Brooklyn to find a better view of herself and keep relying on God to love her just the way she is. While Derek Johnson, the next door neighbor and friend to Chad, starts to open his heart to loving the woman who kept his friend from him. The story takes place in a small town in Idaho, but I'm glad many women who attended church with Brooklyn accepted and welcomed her with open arms. As for the romance, it follows the conventions of a contemporery romance. At the end of the novel, Brooklyn and Derek find their happily ever after. I enjoyed this novel and spending a couple of hours watching Brooklyn and Derek navigate life and their blooming romance. Fans of Becky Wade, Rachel Hauck, Beth K. Vogt, Melissa Tagg, and other contemporary romances will enjoy this novel.

I received a complimentary copy of Robin Lee Hatcher's You'll Think of Me from Thomas Nelson Publishing and the opinions stated are all my own.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment