Suscribe to Justice Through Suspense!

Friday, June 26, 2015

Jody Hedlund: Hearts Made Whole

By Kelly Bridgewater

Back Cover Copy:

From Amazon
1865
Windmill Point, Michigan

Can She Forgive the Hurting Man Who Costs Her the Role She Loves?

After her father's death, Caroline Taylor has grown confident running the Windmill Point Lighthouse. But in 1865 Michigan, women aren't supposed to have such roles, so it's only a matter of time before the lighthouse inspector appoints a new keeper--even though Caroline has nowhere else to go and no other job available to her.

Ryan Chambers is a Civil War veteran still haunted by the horrors of battle. He's secured the position of lighthouse keeper mostly for the isolation--the chance to hide from his past is appealing. He's not expecting the current keeper to be a feisty and beautiful woman who's angry with him for taking her job and for his inability to properly run the light. When his failings endanger others, he and Caroline realize he's in no shape to run the lighthouse, but he's unwilling to let anyone close enough to help. Caroline feels drawn to this wounded soul, but with both of them relying on that single position, can they look past their loss to a future filled with hope...and possibly love?

My Review:

I have heard a lot of good things about Jody Hedlund’s writing, but I haven’t gotten around to reading any of her books yet. Some of the covers for her books like the one for Unending Devotion really grabs my attention. I love that cover. So when Bethany House offered the chance to read and review one of her books I jumped on it.

Jody Hedlund’s writing is great. I really felt like I was in a Lighthouse, looking out at the ocean on a daily basis. I understood Caroline’s and Ryan’s struggles as they learned how to deal with the dilemmas from their past. I felt move by all the problems Caroline and Ryan had to overcome to succeed. I enjoyed watching their journey of Transformation.

Hedlund’s research into the lifestyles of 1865 and 1866 rang true for me. Caroline’s struggle as a woman lightkeeper proved true. The clothes, customs, and the values floated off the page, wrapping me in the time period. One of Hedlund’s strength was allowing Ryan to experience PTSD. This is an issue that has come to light with the warriors from Iraq, but like Hedlund, I believe this would affect any soldier of any war. She allowed Ryan to live a solitary life, avoid relationships, and overdose on pain pills to deal with his choices during the war. This was unique, and I really enjoyed the perspective.

No offense to Hedlund, but I had a hard time staying focused on the book. Not that she isn’t a great writer because I believe she is, but I have a hard time following historical books, which is why I stay away from Amish books and frontier books. There isn’t enough action on the page for me to follow. I get bored easily. That is why I enjoy mysteries, suspense, and thrillers.

In short, Jody Hedlund’s Hearts Made Whole is a good addition to the historical fiction genre with its realistic characters, memorable settings, and a current dilemma affecting the hero. Fans of Karen Witemeyer and Lori Benton would love this book.

I received a complimentary copy of Jody Hedlund’s Heart Made Whole from Bethany House Publishers and the opinions stated are all my own.  

Jody Hedlund’s Writing Bio:

Jody Hedlund is an award-winning and bestselling author of inspirational historical romances for both youth and adults.

As a busy mama-writer, she has the wonderful privilege of teaching her crew of 5 children at home. In between grading math papers and giving spelling tests, she occasionally does a load of laundry and washes dishes. When she's not busy being a mama, you can find her in front of her laptop working on another of her page-turning stories. 

She loves reading almost as much as she loves writing, especially when it also involves chocolate and coffee.

Jody Hedlund
From Hedlund's Amazon Author Page
Where to connect with Jody Hedlund:

Where to purchase Hearts Made Whole:
Your Local Favorite bookstore


What is your favorite aspect of Jody Hedlund’s writing?

No comments:

Post a Comment