Suscribe to Justice Through Suspense!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Dee Henderson: Threads of Suspicion



By Kelly Bridgewater

Evie Blackwell's reputation as a top investigator for the Illinois State Police has landed her an appointment to the governor's new Missing Persons Task Force. This elite investigative team is launched with plenty of public fanfare. The governor has made this initiative a high priority, so they will have to produce results--and quickly.

Evie and her new partner, David Marshal, are assigned to a pair of unrelated cases in suburban Chicago, and while both involve persons now missing for several years, the cases couldn't be more different. While Evie opens old wounds in a close-knit neighborhood to find a missing college student, David searches for a private investigator working for a high-powered client.

With a deep conviction that "justice for all" truly matters, Evie and David are unrelenting in their search for the truth. But Evie must also find answers to the questions that lie just beneath the surface in her personal life.

From Amazon

 My Thoughts:

Threads of Suspicion by Dee Henderson is a captivating look into the world of detectives. From the first page, I was thrown into the action with Evie and David as they were assigned to two different cold cases in the same county. It was nice to return to Evie and watch as she struggles with the decision to marry her boyfriend, Rob. The romance was not too heavy. Instead, it appeared to be too perfect. Maybe even a little unrealistic. Rob, Maggie, and David were perfect for one another and acted just the way a couple should be. I don't think any guy would just sit around and wait forever for a girl to come to know Christ, so he could marry her. After a while, he would lose patience and move on. Luckily, for Henderson that is not the complete idea of the story, it is just the subplot, rounding out the characters, so I can ignore the romance. 

As for the pace of the novel, it appeared to go on and on and on. Every thought David or Evie had about the cold cases were spoken about at dinner, driving to interview someone, or in their makeshift office. There was no moments for pondering the case for myself. Henderson told me what to think and how to think about the missing Jennie. Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the story, and I loved seeing how detectives work and how much thought goes into the process. But I think it could have been paired back some to include more about Evie. Honestly, I don't know much about her except she is in a relationship with Rob and doesn't know if she wants to marry him and loves God. Overall, the novel is a great insider look at the workings of a case. Fans of CSI and Castle would enjoy this novel. If you enjoyed her first book in this series, Traces of Guilt, you might enjoy this book too.

I received a complimentary copy of Threads of Suspicion by Dee Henderson from Bethany House Publishers, and the opinions stated are all my own.

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

What draws you to a story that shows the workings of a particular career? Such as in Threads of Suspicions, I watched as Evie worked through Jennie's missing case.

No comments:

Post a Comment