Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Morgan L. Busse: Flight of the Raven

By Kelly Bridgewater

Selene Ravenwood, once the heir to House Ravenwood, is now an exile. On the run and free of her family's destiny, Selene hopes to find the real reason her family was given the gift of dreamwalking. But first she must adapt to her new life as wife to Lord Damien Maris, the man she was originally assigned to kill.

While adjusting to her marriage and her home in the north, her power over dreams begins to grow. As the strongest dreamwalker to exist in ages, her expanding power attracts not only nightmares but the attention of the Dark Lady herself.

With a war looming on the horizon and a wicked being after her gift, Selene is faced with a choice: embrace the Dark Lady's offer, or search out the one who gave her the gift of dreamwalking. One path offers power, the other offers freedom. But time is running out, and soon her choice will be made for her.

From Amazon

My Thoughts:

Flight of the Raven by Morgan Busse is number two in the fantasy series entitled The Ravenwood Saga. I read the first book a while ago, but I had a hard time remembering what I read. I believe, and this series proved it, that fantasy novels need to be read one right after another. The stories are usually pretty linear, and flow naturally, but it is hard to process what happened before if it has been a while since reading. I do enjoy how Busse allowed the heroine Selene to be interested in searching for the truth about the Light and going against what her families legacy currently is. She is discovering more about what really makes world tick, and I enjoy her curiosity. The series is building toward its climactic moment, and I can't wait to see how this plays out. As for the plot in this series, it really is about Selene finding herself and learning to love, but the big action I hope will play out in the final book. Overall, Flight of the Raven is an enticing read filled with memorable characters and a overarching threat, begging to explode like the water surrounding the kingdom.

I received a complimentary copy of Flight of the Raven by Morgan Busse from Bethany House Publishers, but the opinions stated are all my own.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

About the Author:

Morgan L Busse
From Amazon
Morgan L. Busse is a writer by day and a mother by night. She's the author of the epic fantasy Follower of the Word series and the award-winning steampunk series, The Soul Chronicles. Mark of the Raven is her latest fantasy novel from Bethany House. During her spare time she enjoys playing games, taking long walks, and dreaming about her next novel.

*Visit her blog at

*Follow Morgan on Facebook at  (Taken from Amazon.)

No comments:

Post a Comment