Suscribe to Justice Through Suspense!

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Liz Johnson: The Red Door Inn

By Kelly Bridgewater

Description (From Amazon):

Marie Carrington is running from a host of bad memories. Broke and desperate, she's hoping to find safety and sanctuary on Prince Edward Island, where she reluctantly agrees to help decorate a renovated bed-and-breakfast before it opens for prime tourist season.

Seth Sloane didn't move three thousand miles to work on his uncle's B&B so he could babysit a woman with a taste for expensive antiques and a bewildering habit of jumping every time he brushes past her. He came to help restore the old Victorian--and to forget about the fiancée who broke his heart.

The only thing Marie and Seth agree on is that getting the Red Door Inn ready to open in just three months will take everything they've got. Can these two wounded souls find hope, healing, and perhaps a bit of romance on this beautiful island?

From Amazon
My Thoughts:

I’m not a big fan of contemporary romance novels. There are a few authors that I do read like Melissa Tagg, Susan May Warren, Beth K. Vogt, and Becky Wade, but other than that, I really don’t lean don’t this genre. Too boring. No action. After reading Liz Johnson’s The Red Door Inn, I, personally, will stick with her suspense novels. They are more to my taste. 

The characters, Seth and Marie, both have issues from their past that they have to work through, so they have a hard time trusting someone else, which is typical of a contemporary romance novel. Two characters that disagree from the beginning but learn to grown and put their differences aside. A complete predictable and unoriginal novel. Marie kept having these panic attacks that Johnson kept alluding to, but she never came right out and explained why Marie kept fainting all the time. Seth, however, mentioned that his banking account was wiped out by a past girlfriend, so he has a hard time wanting to jump into trusting another woman.

As for the plot, it dragged.There were a couple chapters of watching Marie, Seth, and Jack, the elder man who owns the Red Door Inn paint a number of rooms in the old Victorian. I really had a hard time staying focused on the story. Even though most fans of contemporary romance might find this story interesting and well written, the plot really didn't do anything for this major fan of suspense novels.

While the plot and characters did nothing for me, Johnson’s writing is great. I really felt like I was there. She showed the setting and never made me doubt once that I was roaming an island out in the Atlantic Ocean. Johnson creates a good balance between the dialogue and prose. I really enjoyed her writing style, even though I knew exactly how the story would end. 

Not to my taste, Liz Johnson’s The Red Door Inn is a typical contemporary romance novel set in St. Edward. Fans of  Melissa Tagg, Becky Wade, Beth K. Vogt and other contemporary romance writers will enjoy this novel and enjoy being taken away on the story where two unlikely people find love in each other after not trusting someone for a long time. 

I received a complimentary copy of The Red Door Inn from Revell Publishing and the opinions stated are all my own.

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Purchase The Red Door Inn

No comments:

Post a Comment